She packed my lunch every week for 12 weeks. I’ll never forget her tights.

Toilet Humor

Toilet Humor

What, you were expecting something else? Mind out of the gutter people, I just watched some anime, figured I’d tell you what you probably already know about some shows I watched.

Amagami SS+

The original show was not really good, but it’s four episode format at least kept the show feeling fresh, and boring arcs ended sooner than later. So this is like two episode arcs showing more…more doesn’t mean that I really care that much.

Rihoko finally got her boyfriend, which seemed to make the internet happy.

Honestly, this second season is quite boring, and I guess I don’t care for it that much, but the “I must finish everything” person in me must watch.

Ano Natsu de Matteru

This really is not good. It’s pretty, the pacing is nice, but it rubs me the wrong way when you think about the plot. I have not seen any of the Onegai series prior to this, so I’m not familiar with similar works, but I hate hate hate (have I said hate) the predictability of this. I’ve seen five episodes, but I just can’t wait for the plot point where he finds out she’s an alien. But aside from that, there’s a whole lot wrong with this show besides its rampant predictability.

To start, she’s kind of screwed over Kai because if she ever leaves, she’s not going to be able to heal him anymore, which means she’s basically given him a death sentence. To finish, his best friend just dropped the bomb that Kanna loves him, and to be honest, I just want to kick him in the nuts. Every character in this show is stupid, dumb, idiotic, and utterly inept. Kai, for a main character, is not even spineless; he’s just a blank slate. It’s like the authors decided they need him to just do what they want from week to week and didn’t even give him a personality.

Despite this, I’m watching till it ends…ufufufu

Another

Seen one episode, love PA Works, but even then this feels like it’s trying way too hard to be creepy.

Black Rock Shooter

I went into this with the same expectations as I did the OVA, thinking I’d hate it (I liked the OVA). I’ve seen one episode of the series and I really like it. Expectations are a bitch.

High School DxD

I have nothing interesting to say about this, I’m watching it, and it’s really shitty as I expected it to be. I find no reason to explain why I watch shitty anime; I like to do that some time. Like might not be the right expression…

Inu x Boku SS

I really saw only one episode of this, unlike BRS and Another, I don’t remember my opinion.

Mouretsu Pirates

Honestly, who doesn’t love pirates? After five episodes, there’s been a lot of talk about pirates, and not much pirating going on. I’ve seen comparisons to Star Trek, and at the moment there seems to be an awful lot of pulling ideas out of asses to get things done. What’s great about this is the underlying sense of fun that permeates the show. It’s the future, fine, but to be able to say, “I joined the yacht club, and all I got was this field trip to space,” is really cool. It’s nearing four cools worth at this point.

It has the right amount of camp, popcorn, and did I mention pirates? There are some serious violations of basic physics occurring, but once you break the “sound in space” rule, all bets are off.

Nisemonogatari

I loved Bakemonogatari. This has had some jaw-dropping moments, but my favorite thing so far is Karen’s opening song/animation, and I hate hate hate (yes, hate) bees. Bakemonogatari didn’t cement itself as something really good to me until I saw it as a whole, and I feel the same here. It’s too early to say I love this, but at the moment it’s meandering in this intro arc too long. Service!

Tantei Opera Milky Holmes 2nd season

This is still loud, obnoxious, silly, and way out of its gourd. I love it as much as the first season. I just need to watch this at about a quarter of the volume I watch anything else.

Thermae Romae

Technically, I “finished” this. I liked it a bunch, but it was helped by its short episode format a lot, and its execution was pretty perfect.

Zero no Tsukaima F

Finally fucking finishing.

I dropped these:

Rinne no Lagrange – Meh.

Symphogear – Didn’t make it halfway through the first episode.

Kill me Baby – Didn’t make it halfway through the first episode at 2X.

Nichibros – Made it through the first episode, yawned the whole way through, think I lost some brain cells.

3 responses to “She packed my lunch every week for 12 weeks. I’ll never forget her tights.

  1. I think one of the main issues with Amagami SS is that it’s drags on… Sure the story format is different from other harem anime, but it’s also a double edge sword. It pretty much mean that you have to wait just to see the part with the interesting girl. The second season is a little better, but suffers from the same issue with the addition of the arcs being too short.

    Mouretsu Pirates was surprisingly good and this is coming from someone who haven’t watched many shows involving space. Not only the characters were enjoyable, but I liked how futuristic the technology is and of course, the pirates.

    As for Milky Holmes II, I still love it as much I did with the first season.

    • Amagami was always sub par, the Nanasaki Ai first half was a complete snoozefest. Kaoru arc when? :p

      I was really thinking that pirates was gonna be moe moe pirates, but I got hacking, sailing, and parfait.

      Twenty’s nipples should not do those things…

  2. Yea, I feel the same about Bakemonogatari. I just finished the Tsubasa Cat arc and that alone increased my overall appreciation of the story. Not sure if Nise will have the same level of concentration as Bake, but the arcs are there.

    Man, I hope Pirates turns out alright. Could be a little more reckless, but we’ll see what conflict brews I guess.

Leave a Reply

