Someone said I watched some GAINAX shows

GAINAX's most epic robots

As many other anime fans, I have lists out on several sites. Each is different, and has different features. A while back the one I keep at Anime Planet delightfully informed me that I had completed fifteen shows principally produced by GAINAX. So for your reading pleasure, I have provided below the list of shows and my brief thoughts past the break. It’s not a full review of the show, just two or three bullet points about how I feel about it from my memories. The keyword being memory; some are remembered well, some more memorable for how good (or bad) they were to me.

These are not ranked in any order aside from alphabetical, sorry to disappoint.

Aim for the Top! (Gunbuster)

  • The first GAINAX show I ever watched. And likely the first I ever officially purchased licensed in the U.S. on VHS tape.
  • I have a lot of love for this show. The scale of the robots, the absurdity of humanity’s last stand, the epic conclusion episode. There’s so much to enjoy from this classic.
  • One of my all-time favorite anime.

Aim for the Top 2! (Gunbuster 2)

  • I rate this show as highly as I do its prequel.
  • Even though I rate it as high, I admit it’s not quite as good. Even so, GAINAX does so much to remember its love for the original Gunbuster, I just can’t rate it lower.
  • If you’ve seen and love the prequel, this is GAINAX’s love story to the fans of the original.

FLCL

  • I’ve seen this about eight or nine times. At some point during the third or fourth watch, I finally understood what was going on.
  • I do like this show a great deal. I have a penchant for random shows, but I like it even more if the random gets tied together with something.
  • The show made me want a Vespa, which I never did get.

Hanamaru Youchien

  • A show about kindergarten teachers and their classes. Oh, there are kindergartners in there that look like something out of PoteMayo.
  • GAINAX didn’t really do anything special here, but it was better than average.
  • All-in-all, this was simple and entertaining, and didn’t purport to be anything more than it was.

He is My Master

  • Young master gets high school classmate to work for him as a maid.
  • He’s a pervert and there are low-cut, short skirt maid outfits.
  • There is also a crudely drawn crocodile named “Pochi.” Pochi was win.

Houkago no Pleiades

  • I don’t even have three bullets for this.
  • Apparently GAINAX needed money from Subaru, so they made this, and those who watched collectively said, “WTF?”

Kare Kano

  • Everyone warned me about the second half, they were right. Although, I’m not sure I even really enjoyed the first half that much either.
  • It’s really hyperactive, and personally that just didn’t work for what the story was trying to accomplish, in my opinion. Even so, I can see how this influenced almost every shoujo series after it.
  • I really wanted to like this more than I did, but I seem to get the feeling that a lot of us did.

Magical Shopping Arcade Abenobashi

  • This show is great, as long as you don’t take it seriously. It’s silly fun.
  • The first episode was so serious at first and then suddenly…Mushrooms. I loved the parody episodes a whole lot, really made this a fun series.
  • How can you go wrong with a character named “Mune Mune?” I mean, come on.

Neon Genesis Evangelion (TV Series)

  • I really thought I would like this…I didn’t.
  • I really think I should like this…I need to re-watch it. (Originally watched the dub, so I might have hated the dub more than the show itself)
  • I found it terribly pretentious, but see above comment on needing to re-watch the show.

Oruchuban Ebichu

  • Perverted hamster silliness
  • Crudely drawn and mostly stupid, with some funny moments peppered in. “That’s the wrong hole!”
  • Learned some new Japanese slang

Otaku no Video

  • When I got into anime, this was one of the first ones I watched. Probably a bit too early
  • I still appreciated the satirical nature of the beast
  • Again, some fun parodies in here, of which I remember the amusement park looking an awful lot like the SDF-1

Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt

  • Panty said fuck a lot.
  • Stocking liked to be tied up.
  • Ultimately this was stupid and not funny at all.

Re: Cutie Honey

  • GAINAX rebooted Cutie Honey.
  • There’s not a lot of substance here.
  • Not that you could ever really take Cutie Honey seriously, but this was good if you turned your brain off.

Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann (TV Series)

  • You would think that if the absurd scale worked so very well in Gunbuster, that if you ramp it up in this show it would just be awesome. It’s not, but it was better than some other things GAINAX has done.
  • What ended up being a fantastic first half growing with the characters and their fight for freedom, turned into a spectacular mess after the major turning point in the first half.
  • It was honestly comical how they just kept trying to one up themselves in size of robots by the end. This one-upmanship unfortunately overshadowed any human element left in the show, to the point where I just didn’t care anymore.

This Ugly Yet Beautiful World

  • This is the most generic thing I’ve seen from GAINAX.
  • It was utter crap.
  • Apparently this was a GAINAX 20th anniversary title, and they have shown they can do much better than this trash.

Wings of Honneamise

  • A particular favorite of mine. GAINAX really shined in this film with its animation.
  • It’s not a fast paced anime, but the coloring and mechanical design was well done.
  • It’s a bit confusing in the middle, but I enjoyed it anyway.

So there’s that. I was also just notified by Anime Planet that I’ve seen ten series produced by Brain’s Base. Maybe I’ll write another post on that, but at my pace, expect the Secret Santa post first.

4 responses to “Someone said I watched some GAINAX shows

  1. Besides FLCL, my favourite Gainax show is surprisingly Mahoromatic. On first look its your typical ecchi romcom, but its also somewhat faster and ridiculous and sweet and innocent at the same time.
    But my favourite studio in recent years is Brains Base, so I look forward to your post.

  2. Gainax is pretty lulz at times. I’m thinking I should totally watch Wings of Honneamise sometime, and also finish Gunbuster 2.

    • I love Honneamise, and for some reason I just re-watched Gunbuster 2. Kinda random, but I wanted to see it again, to verify what I wrote up there, and it did.

Leave a Reply

