2011 Spring season lick test: part 2

Embossed Miku

Art still by ヤチヲ. Stupid emboss effect, by me.

More licking…let’s see what flavors come out this time for my discerning palate. Previous post is here.

Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko: Setup, with an OP that I’m not sure whether I love or hate. At least the main character tells us all the clichés to be expected for the setting. It’s almost like he was reading from the high school anime handbook.

Hidan no Aria: What’s with the self-referential in this one too. “This ridiculous plot you’re about to see could be like something from an anime and manga.” Yup, I got that, so why do you need to tell me that when I’m watching an anime based on a manga already? Hmph, the runaway segway was kinda stupid, and the loli from the sky that grabbed the guy off the bike with her flat chest was predictable. I didn’t get that far, but I predict there will be a comment about her flat chest, and the loli being offended by said comment.

C: Looks snazzy, but is confusing in the first two minutes. I have nothing to judge here, except that it warrants further viewing.

Cheated and watched a whole episode

Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae o Boku achi wa Mada Shiranai: Oh look, this one didn’t need to be self-referential at all, what a concept. That said, this made me feel all gooey inside. It was kinda sad, yet happy, yet depressing, yet fulfilling. I think I’m going to like this, because that’s the kind of stuff that works for me. Tell me a story Ano Hana, I’m watching.

One response to “2011 Spring season lick test: part 2

Leave a Reply

